< Back

Prodrive Celebrates 30th Anniversary of First Race

January 27, 2014

On January 27, 1984, world-renowned racing organization Prodrive made its debut at the Qatar International Rally. 30 years later, the organization boasts numerous championships in stage rally and sports car racing, with Global Rallycross its latest focus.

Prodrive made its entry into Global Rallycross in 2013, providing Liam Doran with a MINI for three X Games rounds and the series’ July event at Bristol Motor Speedway and campaigning Dave Mirra at the season’s final two events. Doran took two podium finishes in the X Games Munich doubleheader, including the organization’s most recent rally win, while Mirra consistently put the car on the top of the time sheets in Charlotte and Las Vegas.

Multiple GRC drivers have raced for Prodrive in the World Rally Championship, including Carlos Sainz, Marcus Gronholm, and Patrik Sandell. Sainz earned back-to-back runner-up finishes in the championship in 1994 and 1995, while Sandell scored a career-best WRC finish of eighth in Rally Sweden with the team in 2012.

Over its 30-year history, Prodrive boasts 132 rally victories and 130 road racing wins in over 2200 combined starts. Hundreds of world-class drivers have raced for Prodrive, taking six World Rally Championships (three Drivers’, three Manufacturers’), four British Touring Car Championships, and three victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Photo credit: Matthew Kalish

Categories: Features