< Back

Race Preview: X Games Barcelona

May 17, 2013

The first round of the Global Rallycross season at X Games Foz do Iguacu saw surprises at every corner, resulting in a series newcomer taking the win and many new drivers scoring strong finishes. Now, the drivers and teams of the sport attempt to get into a rhythm for the rest of the year as they enter the second event of the year, X Games Barcelona.

Like in Foz do Iguacu, the Barcelona track will be mostly comprised of dirt, with a concrete frontstretch. The clockwise figure-8 layout features cars jumping over another section of the track, giving fans the high-flying action they expect from Global Rallycross.

Scott Speed will return to the #77 Ford Fiesta Star Car from Rdio and OMSE, attempting to back up his gold medal from the first event of the year. In all, 11 of the 15 drivers who competed in Brazil will also be present in Spain, with six new additions to the field.

Key among the new additions are the three members of the Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team, who will be making their season debuts in Barcelona. Three-time European champion Sverre Isachsen, all-time X Games medal leader Dave Mirra, and X Games Brazil vert skateboarding gold medalist Bucky Lasek will each begin their second season of Global Rallycross competition with high hopes.

Also joining the series in Barcelona will be rallying legend Carlos Sainz. The two-time World Rally champion, who ranks first all-time in that series with 196 starts and third with 26 wins, will join Marklund Motorsport to drive a Red Bull-backed Volkswagen Polo. Sainz will race with #303, the same number he used to win the 2010 Dakar Rally with VW.

The other newcomers boast a wealth of off-road experience as well. 2004 Dakar Rally winner Nani Roma will bring his PCR Team Mini, while Guilherme Spinelli will be behind the wheel of a Mitsubishi Evo prepared by X Team Racing.

Liam Doran posted the fastest time in seeding in Brazil in a Citroen DS3, but he’ll bring another vehicle to Barcelona—a former World Rally-spec Mini Cooper Works built by the legendary Prodrive team. Doran has expressed confidence in the new car’s speed; meanwhile, the legendary team looks to add rallycross trophies to its mantle, having already seen success in rally, sports car racing, and Formula 1.

The full entry list is below:

  • Nani Roma, #4 Mini Cooper Works, All4 Racing Mini
  • Sverre Isachsen, #11 Subaru WRX STi, Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team
  • Guilherme Spinelli, #12 Mitsubishi Evo, X Team Racing
  • Patrik Sandell, #18 Ford Fiesta ST, OlsbergsMSE
  • Steve Arpin, #32 Ford Fiesta, OMSE2
  • Liam Doran, #33 Mini Cooper Works, LD Motorsport/Prodrive
  • Tanner Foust, #34 Ford Fiesta ST, OlsbergsMSE
  • Brian Deegan, #38 Ford Fiesta ST, OlsbergsMSE
  • Dave Mirra, #40 Subaru WRX STi, Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team
  • Ken Block, #43 Ford Fiesta ST, Hoonigan Racing Division
  • Toomas Heikkinen, #57 Ford Fiesta ST, OlsbergsMSE
  • Scott Speed, #77 Ford Fiesta, OMSE2
  • Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru WRX STi, Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team
  • Anton Marklund, #92 Volkswagen Polo, Marklund Motorsport
  • Bryce Menzies, #99 Dodge Dart, Pastrana Racing
  • Travis Pastrana, #199 Dodge Dart, Pastrana Racing
  • Carlos Sainz, #303 Volkswagen Polo, Marklund Motorsport
Categories: Features