< Back

Global Rallycross Awards Winners Announced

November 12, 2013

The inaugural Global Rallycross Awards, celebrating the accomplishments of the drivers and teams competing in the 2013 season, were awarded at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas on Thursday night. The ceremony included over a dozen award winners, including representation for each team.

Points-based awards included the Supercars and Lites champions, team champion, and manufacturer champion. OlsbergsMSE drivers Toomas Heikkinen and Joni Wiman won the two driver’s championships, while OMSE won the team championship; all three of these awards were locked up in the season’s penultimate round in Charlotte. Meanwhile, manufacturer champion Ford—winner of eight of nine Supercar rounds between Heikkinen, Scott Speed, and Ken Block—clinched its title all the way back at X Games Los Angeles.

Tanner Foust won the Fan Favorite Driver of the Year Award presented by Royal Purple, in a contest that drew over 30,000 votes in just two short weeks of fan participation across social media. Foust, the host of “Top Gear” and a renowned stunt driver in addition to his Global Rallycross participation, drew a leading 36% of all votes cast.

Bucky Lasek won the inaugural Global Rallycross Sportsmanship Award. The second-year driver finished 11th in points with the Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team, earning a best finish of sixth place in Charlotte.

Each team was rewarded with a Crew Member of the Year award, designed to afford recognition to the mechanics who work tirelessly behind the scenes to get Global Rallycross cars on track each race weekend. These award winners were:

  • Brad Manka, GRC Lites
  • Stefan Johansson, OlsbergsMSE
  • Henrick Rautanen, Hoonigan Racing Division
  • Dylan Hughes, Pastrana Racing
  • Marty Fultz, PMR Motorsports
  • Matt Finney, Prodrive
  • JR Hartley, Rhys Millen Racing
  • Dan Farley, Subaru PUMA Rallycross
  • Blaze Pawluczuk, X Team Racing

Photo credit: Matthew Kalish

Categories: Breaking News