< Back

X Games Austin Invited Athletes Announced

March 19, 2014

Today ESPN has announced the first wave of athletes who will be invited to X Games Austin, including the drivers who have been invited to compete in the second round of the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross season.

The list includes numerous X Games veterans, including all-time leading X Games rally medalist Tanner Foust, former gold medal winners Travis Pastrana, Brian Deegan, and Scott Speed, and former GRC Lites drivers Joni Wiman and Austin Dyne. Of the drivers announced so far, 15 competed in GRC Supercars events at X Games last season.

Two female drivers will also make their X Games debut in Austin: drifting veteran Sarah Burgess and multiple New Zealand Rally Championship runner-up Emma Gilmour. They will become the first female athletes to compete in X Games rally events as drivers.

The full list of invited athletes is as follows:

  • Steve Arpin
  • Ken Block
  • Sarah Burgess
  • Brian Deegan
  • Austin Dyne
  • Tanner Foust
  • Emma Gilmour
  • Sverre Isachsen
  • Bucky Lasek
  • Bryce Menzies
  • Rhys Millen
  • Dave Mirra
  • Pat Moro
  • Travis Pastrana
  • Nelson Piquet Jr.
  • Patrik Sandell
  • Scott Speed
  • Guiga Spinelli
  • Joni Wiman
Categories: Breaking News