Event 1 – The Revolution

LOCATION | Irwindale Speedway, Irwindale, CA
DATE | March 25-26
CONDITIONS | Oval meets rallycross: 50 per cent dirt, 50 per cent tarmac; 70′ gap jump. The first stop in the new Global RallyCross Championship, this event transforms Irwindale Speedway’s small oval track into a mixed dirt and tarmac rallycross course. Competitors looking for a chance to compete at X Games this summer meet to race for the first time. The highlight of the event is a huge, 70-foot gap jump, seen here for the first time in any motorsport competition outside of X Games.




Two-time World Rally Championship winner Marcus Grönholm took a pair of wins this weekend after two days of hard-hitting competition at the first-ever Global RallyCross Championship event, held Friday and Saturday at Irwindale Speedway outside of Los Angeles.

The legendary Finnish driver emerged victorious in both days of racing, piloting his Best Buy Ford Fiesta to victory in Friday’s head-to-head SuperRally contest and the multi-car RallyCross event on Saturday.

“The track was good to drive,” said Grönholm. “The competition was good with many good drivers… I want to come back and race here again this season.”

The first-ever Global RallyCross Championship event saw a field of top drivers in two-wheel and all-wheel drive classes competing head-to-head on a mixed dirt and tarmac course that featured a massive, 70-foot gap jump never seen before outside of X Games competition.

Second place on Saturday went to Rockstar Energy Drink driver and Top Gear host Tanner Foust, who campaigned the same Ford Fiesta he took to double-X Games Rally gold medals last summer. He said he was excited to be at the inaugural Global RallyCross Championship event.

“We broke a lot of ground this weekend at this first event,” said Foust Saturday. “The final was crazy: When I saw Grönholm’s car right over my head on the jump, I knew he had it.”

Third-place overall went to Formula DRIFT regular Stephan Verdier, who put in consistently fast times all weekend in his Subaru WRX STI.

“The last round was insane,” said Verdier. “I can’t wait to do it again at the next one.”

The two-day Global RallyCross Championship race featured a roster of top drivers from around the world, including Subaru Rally Team USA driver Dave Mirra – a BMX star with more X Games medals than any other athlete in the world – European rallycross veteran Michael Jernberg, from Sweden, and the Hyundai team of Rhys Millen and five-time British rally champion Marcus Dodd

Download full results here
113600 S-AWDMarcus Grönholm11 Ford Fiesta
224S-AWDMichael Jernberg
3334S-AWDTanner Foust11 Ford Fiesta
4499S-AWDPontus Tidemand08 Ford Fiesta
5567S-AWDRhys Millen12 Hundai Veloster
6612S-AWDStephan Verdier06 Subaru STi
77115S-AWDJoseph Burke06 Mitsubishi Evo 9
8876S-AWDMarcus Dodd12 Hyundai Veloster
91418L-AWDJimmy Keeney07 Subaru Impresa WRX STi
109198S-AWDArkadiusz Gruszka06 Mitsubishi EVO IX

Download full results here
13Marcus GrönholmS-AWD11 Ford Fiesta
234Tanner FoustS-AWD11 Ford Fiesta
312Stephan VerdierS-AWD06 Subaru STi
440Dave MirraS-AWD06 Subaru STi
567Rhys MillenS-AWD12 Hundai Veloster
DNF99Pontus TidemandS-AWD08 Ford Fiesta

DriverThe RevolutionTwin PeaksLast ChanceX Games 17RallyCross TOTAL
Jared Carpenter0
RallyXRallyXRallyXRally X
Tanner Foust1721131869
Marcus Gronholm20221658
Rhys Millen1312131250
Stephan Verdier151315144
Michael Jernberg81710237
Dave Mirra11111436
Brian Deegan112132
Derek Higgins191231
Joseph Burke7104829
Arkadiusz Gruszka98522
Jimmy Keeney93719
Andreas Eriksson1717
Liam Doran71017
Pontus Tideman12012
Nathan Conley1212
Travis Pastrana1111
Marcus Dodd1010
Richard Burton729
Pat Moro88
Timothy Rooney66
Dillon Van Way66
Ken Block44
Robbie Maddison33
Robert Borowicz0
Andi Mancin0

Download full results here
146S-2WDMathew Johnson2004 Mazda RX‐8
264S-2WDRandy Zimmer96 Mazda Miata
390L-2WDLauchlin O’Sullivan87 Toyota FX‐16
DNF600S-2WDDillon Van Way02 Ford Focus
DNF55S-2WDAndrew Sutherland95 Honda Civic